run, run, run, run, run, run, run away

Standard

The title of this post is a reference to “Psycho Killer” by the Talking Heads, a favorite band of mine. I often like to listen to this song while I run, especially now that I’m in Paris. Why? Because there is a French line in the song, which makes me feel good about my practicing of french.

Well that was a small tangent from the larger point of this post. Which is running. First of all, THANK YOU DEBBIE, I OWE YOU MY LIFE. OR MY FIRST BORN. OR JUST SOME PARISIAN CHOCOLATE. Debbie, from Ventura Orthopedics, completely healed my tendonitis so that after 7 months, I am finally able to run! And honestly, it has been both breathtaking and amazing to run in Paris.

There are so many great parks and the Seine offers great sightseeing and people watching while running alongside it. There is a great park right near my dorm and there is this bridge that you can take to get there. The bridge runs on top of a large street and is lined with trees, flowers and fountains. It’s so beautiful and I often see other runners and walkers up there. Once I get past the park, I enter the road once again after going through a tunnel. The tunnel leads to a pathway that feels like I’m in Jurassic Park (lined with lots of flora and fauna, but alas, no triceratops). I often see roller bladers, bikers, runners, and my personal favorite- small children on scooters. Seriously, why didn’t I bring my razor scooter? It’s how all the cool kids get around. And if I had brought it, I would have an extremely strong right calf by the time I head back to America. Lesson obviously learned.

I will say that the one difficult thing about running in Paris is running past all of the boulangeries where there is fresh bread being baked. How the hell am I supposed to run by that?? I will admit to have stopping at one or two boulangeries and just staring longingly from outside like a hungry puppy. Now I travel with a few euros in case of emergency…

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

  1. It sounds like you are having such a good time it will be hard to get back to studying. Just brought Dillon to AP . I think he had a good time. We enjoyed having him. Got to play lots of golf here & at Brian’s place in mountains & he got to visit everyone.
    Love,
    Grandpa

Leave a Reply

