Latin Confusion

Standard

Ok, so I’m a little delayed in this posting because of my ridiculous day yesterday. We only have field trips Monday, Wednesday, Friday, so yesterday I thought I would utilize the free time I had to get a few things done on my to do list, two of them being necessities. However, yesterday was a lesson learned. There is no such thing as urgency in any store or business in Paris. It simply does not exist. Even better than slow as molasses transactions? Everyone in line sighing every 8.3 seconds, just so that we are ALL aware of the time being wasted. Unfortunately for me, getting money/a new debit card turned out to be a lot more difficult than expected. So instead of me accomplishing my tasks? I barely accomplished one. It took 4.5 hours to finally get some money until my card would come.

So back to my previous trip- the Latin Quarter! Yes, as I wrote before, I was obviously confused about what “Latin” was referring to. I looked for bean and cheese burritos, but alas, there were none.. The Latin Quarter refers to Rome, ergo Italy instead! And our first stop was on a bridge over the Seine across from the Notre Dame. Our teacher began to tell us about Berthillion’s (this extremely delicious gelato place) which was nearby. I tried to convince her to take our field trip there instead, but for some odd reason she just continued our trip.

The Notre Dame. The streets are so fascinating in Paris because they each say what year they were founded and tend to be the name of a historical event or person. So some of the streets we walk on have literally been there for hundreds of years. We learned that the streets here are paved because when war broke out earlier, the cobblestones were picked up and used to throw to defend themselves. So if I get in a street fight here, I know what my weapon choice will be!

The first inhabitants of Paris lived on the little islands, such as where the Notre Dame is. To protect themselves and to receive transports, although only the rich had boats. So I guess if a peasant was ever lucky enough to get on one the first thing they did was sing “I’m on a boat, I’m on a boat” (Sorry, poor Andy Samberg joke, I apologize. But sometimes I write these things for myself. I find myself quite entertaining at times.)

This a famous church. For the life of me, I can’t remember the name. Sorry charlies.

The Sorbonne! We learned about the College of Paris and the Sorbonne, as well as the rest of the education system, which I found to be really enlightening. Originally the church had all of the texts and knowledge (whoa, you greedy people, spread the wealth!) and were reluctant to share. So teachers received books from other countries and taught students outside on hay bales, which is where the name for one specific street we walked past comes from.

Look Mom and Dad, I got into UC Sorbonne!

The Church St. Etienne-du-Mont, who was a Saint believed to have helped the French people ward of Atila the Hun. Inside there is also a second floor-ish walkway (not sure of the technical term) where the Priest used to walk and preach from. Only a few are left in Paris.

The Pantheon!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

  1. There is an entire part underneath Notre Dame of old Roman city or temple I cant remember which. In fact a lot of things in France are built on top of older historical sites but the sites are still in tact underneath the city. This is actually true of a lot of cities. They had a show about it Undergroung Cities or Underground history. I can try and find it for you if youd like. You should try to find this stuff and go most tourists dont know abouts it.

Leave a Reply

