Cat (Lady) and the Flea (Market)

Standard

I now understand why french people don’t shave…because their showers are too damn small to fit both a leg and a hand holding a razor at the same time. Our extremely tiny (I kid you not on how small it truly is, I bang my elbow a minimum of five times per shower) shower also has a door that closes, but it takes up one fourth of the shower opening, so even when I sit on a stool outside of the shower and attempt to shave my legs, I must shave one leg at a time. This is the reason I went three weeks not shaving my legs (so what, I was wearing pants 65% of the time!). We also have a limited amount of hot water each day, so I don’t want to spoil away any of our precious warm water for the greediness of sleek legs. I also realized this must be why Parisians only have small dogs the size of cheesewheels (yes, every comparison must be food related) because there is no freakin’ way a bigger dog would get bathed within the city limits of Paris otherwise.

Today was the first week of our “semester,” which means french class only three times a week for an hour and a half and the starting of my two other classes! Today I started my French Cinema class, we just had  a movie showing today, which we will each Monday. The class was really tiny, there weren’t enough seats for people, the speakers didn’t work, and it was hot as hades. Glad to see that the UCs keep their standards low over at UC Paris as well. I thought to myself, “well this is pretty much like every other first day of a film class that I have ever been to.” Besides that, I enjoyed the movie and look forward to this class. I’m glad I took World Cinema 1930s-1960s last year because I feel like this class will build upon a lot of the French cinema history we learned about. Wait, a class that builds on another class? Holy petunia, I thought that was just a myth in college!

In other news, most of my technology has decided to rebel the moment I leave the country. My latest snafu is that my ipod is non responsive. It just doesn’t have any will to live. Which is really unsurprising if we’re being honest here because of COURSE an ipod that I got less than 9 months ago is no longer working! In case you haven’t heard before, when I was born, I left all of the luck behind and Dillon usurped it all and now is the King of Luck in our family. He wins every raffle ticket, bingo, random drawing, while I seem to sometimes travel with a rainy cloud overhead and still to this day have never won a bingo game (the bingo thing has apparently really stuck with me and grieves me more than I cared to acknowledge before).

Oh, and I must review my weekend! We went bar hopping on Friday night to celebrate our final, I met up with Hugo to see more of the city, but most importantly….I USED MY NEW ROLLY BAG. Yes, I used it TWICE this weekend. On Saturday morning, I used it to stroll the marché and I must admit, it pretty much kicks ass and is the best investment I have ever made in my life. On Sunday a couple girls and myself went to one of the big flea markets (or marché au puce) that are held in Paris. It was raining, which made me even more happy to have my RAINPROOF rolly bag. What enhanced this outing? The fact that I was wearing my big black raincoat, had unshowered hair, wore black running tights and wool gray socks over my shins. I told Diana to strictly refer to me as “Cat Lady.” Despite my really attractive appearance, I managed to get boots! Which I had been aiming to buy since I got here. I’m extremely pleased with my purchase and wore them to class today. And when we went around the class to say what we had each done this weekend, I first told the class that I had bought my brandnewfantasticaren’tyoujealous rolly bag (my teacher commended me on a smart purchase). Then I shared that I went to the “marché de flea,” (this is how I learned the correct terminology, although I know that my teacher always will understand my frenglish more than she cares to admit). And then I showed off my latest purchase, where I received several “oohs” and “ahhs.”

It is of the utmost importance that my rolly bag makes it back to Santa Cruz with me, just think about how useful it would be at the farmer’s markets!? Last night when I told my dad about my concern of the rolly bag’s return to America (sounds like a spin off of the Little Toaster), he suggested I leave it behind in the apartment for the next habitants. No, just, no. This bad boy is SOLID GOLD.

Anyways, that’s my little update. Tomorrow I’m going to the Catacombs with some people, so stay tuned for that interesting self-guided field trip!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

