Professor may or may not have a small french dog living on his head.

Standard

*First correction: My father would like everyone to realize that I accidentally mispelled my middle name, which just goes to show that I truly am 70, as my brain isn’t what it used to be. Although I just spoke with my mother on the phone who told me that she forgot that my middle name was Paulina and thought it was Pauline momentarily. Thanks mom, you da best. But that’s okay because I believe until Dillon was 5, he thought his middle name was Brian (after our uncle) and not Ryan. Guess it runs in the family.

So the reason I am spoiling you all today with two blog posts is that I just had the first day of my second class and my teacher NEEDS to be blogged about. The class is Media in France and the European Union and it’s for 3 hours every week (I seem to only be able to get into classes that are for 3 hours). My professor, Mr. Joav  Toker, is an older man, maybe late 50s, early 60s. And he has a dying poodle on his head. By that I mean that I can’t distinguish that which is his hair. It’s curly, very disheveled, lopsided, dark brown in some areas, an auburn in others (maybe he dyes it?) and moves independently. And then Mr. Toker begins to speak. He tells us he is from Israel, worked in Paris for 15 years and traveled a lot because he has worked for television news stations. Ok so his accent is a Frankenstein of British, Israeli and French and I can’t figure it out exactly. Also, he emphasizes CERTAIN words for no APPARENT reason. And takes long pauses while he searches for the right word. Also uses his hands like little sock puppets to illustrate things. Half of the time he’s talking I am staring at the creature that resides on his head and the other half I’m trying to distinguish his accent. He tells us that he worked for TV 5 or “TV Cinq,” which instantly reminds me of Dodgeball “ESPN 8: the Ocho.”

The class seems interesting, all stuff that I enjoy reading and discussing. We are supposed to keep tabs on social and current events both in France and Europe. Which I know will be great for me because I like to live in a cave and be blissfully unaware of the events going on around me. This is especially true when it comes to geography as I have had to use google maps about 100 times already to figure out how far away certain countries are from each other. I’m not proud of some of the geographical questions I may have asked my roommate in previous conversations.

That’s all for now, just needed to detail my professor in all of his glory to you. Baguette class tomorrow morning, so I’m sure I’ll have some stories from that!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

2 responses »

  1. What a treat, 2 blogs in one day! And both equi-funny!! That doesn’t surprise me about your mom (sorry Maria) that she thought your name was something other than what it is….
    Love the comparison of Nana and Parisiens. She’e been using that white hair to her advantage for a long time now…
    Your professor sounds very entertaining!!! and distracting!!!

  2. Ok – is there a PG-13 or R version of the blog available with the nightlife / barhopping stories?? I am enjoying your enchanting tales about life in Paris but lets get to the good stuff!

    Love

    Uncle Brian

Leave a Reply

