Parade and a movie, Paris style.

Standard

Wow this weekend feels like forever ago, time really does fly here. On Friday night, Diana and I went out for dinner to celebrate our being here a month. And the food was SO GOOD. I will definitely be taking my parents there for dinner. Or rather, they will be taking me…

Saturday. So we’re sitting in our room, doing some reading/hw and I feel like I hear a stampede. Um, excuse me, but what is that? A friend had mentioned earlier that there was going to be a techno parade in Paris, but I hadn’t given it much thought. Diana and I decide to go outside and see what exactly the noise is and if this is the parade we had heard about. I’m not even sure if I can accurately describe this parade. Techno parade doesn’t seem like a good portrayal, as there was trance, club music, and dubstep (shout out Santa Cruz!) as well. I’m 99.9 percent sure that most of you reading this have NO IDEA what all that music is, so just use your imagination. This parade consists of like 20 or so huge trucks with people on two different floors dancing, while a specific dj plays music. Each truck is decked out in their own theme, some more impressive than others (the one with LED lights? cool. the one with fake neon furry monkeys? You clearly had a shitty budget.) The music is so loud and you can feel it in your chest. Now along with each of these trucks is anywhere from 100 to hundreds of people following, walking alongside it, dancing. The majority of the crowd is the teenage population, but I saw ravers, older people, and people on the side just taking pictures and staring (Parisians like to stare. And they like to judge.). Kids are on top of bus stops dancing, there are some crazy outfits, booze everywhere, cigarette smoke for days, and all the streets are blocked off on the path they are driving. I imagine it’s like Mardi Gras, but with daylight and more clothing. It was really fun to watch and walk alongside.

After we hang out for awhile, we head back to cram in some more homework before going back out. Apparently the parade stops in this one place and then the djs each go to different clubs, where you can go and dance at. However, those clubs cost monies. Me no have extra monies. So Diana and some other people head out at night to try and catch more of the parade, but I had made plans with my friend Ilanit (she’s a Santa Cruzian as well). Our plans? Well they may or may ¬†not have consisted of seeing Harry Potter in 3D. It started pouring, so it actually worked out well that I didn’t head back to the parade. Ilanit and I head over to the Champs-Elysees where the movie is still playing in theaters. We buy our ticket (and have to pay a euro for 3D glasses!!! I’m telling you, the *Parisians will sell you ANYTHING). Therefore I kept my glasses and will return to future 3D movies with them. Damn straight, I own those glasses now and I will get my money’s worth. We head into the theater, where we see on the first floor the “concession area.” You know, just filled with wine, beer, ice cream, paninis, candy and kettle corn. The usual. We head upstairs to the third floor to see our beloved Harry P. The theater is somewhat small and Ilanit goes to sit down. Now these seats have really high backs, but until she sits down, we never realize how low the seats are. Ilanit is a small girl and she just looks hysterical in the seat. I ask her if she’ll be able to see the movie. So we sit down and wait for the previews to start. I admit to her that I’m having a mild panic attack that we just spend money to see a non-English version of Harry Potter (you buy the tickets from a machine and therefore never deal with a person). We see some previews in English and some in French. The movie starts and sweet pearl, it is in English! Score for us. Although Ilanit tells me that they could never dub Harry and Ron, that would just be criminal. Which I would have to agree.

I feel like some other stuff happened on the weekend, but I can’t really remember. Whoops. That is all I have for you today, but this weekend I head to the Loire Valley (south of Paris, known for its chateaus)! And then come Monday, the Krasnigors take Paris! Maria and Keith will be arriving in Paris on Monday. To bring their favorite child a spatula, pecans, and various spices and to wine and dine her. Oh and to see Paris. I imagine I’ll have only a few photos to share from their visit as my dear Mother is bad at taking photos, doesn’t like to be in photos, and my parents have an inability to both smile at the same time, therefore there will probably only be photos of me.

*Side note: Every time I start to generalize about the natives here, I have to make sure that I say Parisians instead of the French. This is because Emilie and her lovely family are French and I never want them to be lumped into my French generalizations. So I try to make sure I always say Parisians instead. I do not want to slander the Mateu name (or Julie or Ronnie to stop reading my blog, I need all the readers I can get, let’s get real here.).

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

2 responses »

  1. Hey Kels!
    I got a shout out!! I have been a loyal follower of yours! Got worried the past few days since you did not blog… I am laughing all the time (I love that you are keeping the 3D glasses!)…. So impressed with all that you are doing and your openness to everything! Have fun in the Loire (amazing!) and with your parents!

Leave a Reply

