When hunger becomes hanger.

Standard

Oy vey. I have been neglecting my dear blog, to which I (unsurprisingly) received an e-mail from Em telling me to basically get back to work (which I can only assume is an order passed to you from Mrs. Ronnie Schwartz, who is sitting by her computer with her trusty companion Skinny Gal, waiting for the next post to come out!). Yesterday all of our internet connections were down because of some fuse that was broken in the residence. Which was EXTREMELY frustrating for me. Why? Well because yesterday was a day filled with class, shopping (I didn’t really do the shopping, my roomie did) and walking along the Champs-Elysees, meeting up with my tea group from last week for more tea, and then attempting to get my laundry done (there is only one drier and two washers. And I only brought exactly 6 workout shorts, so don’t you be getting in my way of the washers!!!). Really what I’m trying to say is that I came home wanting to update my blog and watch a little tv and couldn’t all while being extremely hungry. Key word: HUNGRY. Which for those of you who know me, know that hungry quickly turns to HANGRY. And for anyone who is familiar with a Krasnigor, then you have A LOT of experience with this.

Finally I got to talk to Julie (my best friend who is currently studying abroad in Bologna, Italy) who has not had internet for two weeks. So she knew the pain I was in after less than 12 hours of no internet. The best part? She asked how I was and I simply replied “I’m hungry.” And all I hear is “ooooooh, I remember how that goes…” Which obviously means, “Oh you’re such a sweetie when you’re hungry and I wish I could be there to spend mass quantities of time with you!” Not.

And as for this weekend, it was on the busier side, both in Paris and at home in Simi Valley! My brosef moved into college! Woohoo! I’m beyond thrilled for him to begin that next chapter of his life and more importantly, I’m stoked to visit him in Santa Barbara. It was funny to talk to my parents about moving Dillon in because oh how the times have changed with the second child. First of all, on Saturday night, I was talking to my dad via skype (he’s REALLY into the video chatting, I think it’s only to make sure that I’m alive and have not added anymore facial piercings while I’m in Paris) and I knew that they were moving Dillon in the next day. So I asked him, “what time are you leaving at?” And he starts talking about how he has a meeting at 10, so probably at 7 in the morning. But Dill’s move in time was at 12, so I was confused. “Wait, what are you talking about?” “I was talking about taking your mother to the airport,  what are you talking about?” “UM, MOVING IN YOUR CHILD TO COLLEGE?” “haha, oh, whoops…” Clearly, my parents have the whole get the children out of the nest down pat. I even caught my mother starting to say, “Ya so on Sunday we’ll get rid..I mean move in Dillon” (she’s gonna kill me for posting that).

Also it was interesting to compare my move in to Dillon’s. Dill’s move in time was at 12 and he planned on being out of there by 1:15 for the Patriot’s game (I can just hear Grandpa, Uncle Brian and Tanya saying “atta boy”). Me? Yes I was trying to move in quickly, but rather because I was trying to put away/conceal all the shit I had brought college (I think my dad was shocked at how much Mom and I were able to fit deceptively into a few pieces of luggage). Moral of the story? I’m working on my pack rat ways and was somehow able to pack only one big suitcase and one bag for my 4 months in Paris. (Let’s not talk about the mini suitcase I’m having my mother sherpa on her visit to Paris for me).

I think I shall write two posts, mostly because I have no idea how to tie in my weekend with this post. Also, side note: I cannot take credit for the word hangry, even though I wish I could. Mom tried to make the word “hangired” (hungry+angry+tired) happen, but I wouldn’t allow it. Stop trying to make fetch happen, Gretchen (5 points to anyone who got that Mean Girls reference!)

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

