Trippin’ Thoughts

Standard

I’m off on my first getaway tomorrow…to the Loire Valley! (please say the previous statement in the Price is Right’s commentator’s voice, it enhances it oh so much). I’m going with my friend Aleah and much to my enjoyment, I keep calling it our “romantic getaway.” She laughs when I tell people this, but I’m still undecided on whether or not she’s mostly laughing with me or at me. I call it this for a few reasons:

1. The Loire Valley is supposed to be a beautiful, romantic spot. Filled with castles, wine, a gorgeous river, and romantic restaurants. Therefore, our trip takes on an element of romance.

2. Originally when we were planning this trip, Aleah was in charge of finding us a room at a hostel or hotel (but in the Loire Valley, it’s a ROMANTIC hostel/hotel). She originally booked us a room with two twin beds. But then she got an email saying that it didn’t process and that her only option was to book a room with a queen bed. So, logically she did that. Ploy to cuddle with me? I think so. We later found out that she had reserved both rooms, but we ended up canceling the queen bed of cuddles for the twin bed option.

3. Aleah is one of the few other blonds in this program (shocking I know, since 99 percent of us are from California). But she’s like 4ish inches shorter then me. So when we walk together, we either look like an adorable pair of sisters or a lesbian couple (we also have similar wardrobe choices, so I think we look more like the latter). I asked her jokingly what clothes she was planning to pack, so that we could have matching his and hers outfits. I clearly think I’m hilarious.

Anyways, I’m really excited to go on this trip! Not only because Aleah and I will be meeting up with our friend Christine on Saturday and because the Loire Valley looks fantasmic, but because I think it will be a nice little introduction to traveling while abroad. In about two weeks my roomie and I are headed to Barcelona. And I’m a bit nervous for that one. But I imagine once the date gets closer and investigate and plan more (meaning figure out how to get to the hostel from the airport) I will feel better. It will be my first hostel experience (in a ten person room, no less). As I’m reflecting on why I’m nervous, I can diagnose the two reasons why. And they are due to the Krasnigor father and son duo:

1. Dillon has tried repeatedly to have my mother and I watch the movie Taken, which I REFUSE to watch. Are you crazy?? I still have nightmares with Golum in them and I have been fast forwarding through his scenes for almost 3 years now. Regardless, Dillon has (as any kind younger brother would do) put into my head scary thoughts about traveling, especially to a hostel.

2. My father emailed me a week or two ago to tell him the travel dates I had planned so far. I obliged and received a Keith Krasnigor email back from him. “Barcelona can be dangerous. Be careful.” I absolutely LOVE when my parents stay stuff like this to me. Why? Because all it does is instill fear in me. Also, when I asked my mom why they say that stuff to me? She said “to warn you, and so that when you are dead, we at least know we said all that we could and warned you.” So basically my parents just want to make sure they are fulfilling their “I told you sos!”

Despite those two very thoughtful comments from two very thoughtful family members, I am looking forward to going to Barcelona. BECAUSE I CAN NAP AND IT’S NORMAL THERE. Anyways, gotta go pack and do some more hw before my trip! I’ll be back Saturday night, so hopefully I’ll get a blog up Sunday.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

Leave a Reply

