Three Abreast Doesn’t Work in Paris

Standard

Hello fellow Handstand Followers!  Guest blogger (blogee?) dad here.  We’re giving Kelsey a rest as she has been quite a tour guide, safety officer, personal shopper and chef the past three days! In fact she mentioned that she slept really well last night…could have been the fabulous food we ate at Fish La Boissonnerie on the rue de Seine…Kelsey tried to throw down some French but they would have none of it…in fact Maria was convinced our waitress was American because her English seemed very natural and without accent.  It’s been great to watch Kelsey maneuver with her French and interpret stuff for us.  She’s really getting it down.  We’ve been working on not standing out as ugly Americans (“yes I am going to wear my New Balance running shoes with white socks; no I did not bring my Birkenstocks”) and to mind our manners when we walk into Kelsey’s favorite stores; “Bonjour” as we greet our storekeepers, “Mom, don’t touch that”  “Mom, don’t point and put your fingers on the storefront glass.” “Merci and Au Revoir” as we leave each place whether we bought something or not.  Its a lot of work but it has been fun and eventful.  However it has been hard to walk three abreast when the side walk is barely a meter wide (3 ft. for you folks back in America.) We’re either ahead of each other or side by side taking out the opposing walkers! 

Lots to see and do in Paris.  I thought about breaking out the beret and cigarettes but again too hot for the hat and the second hand smoke (now wafting into our apartment window) is enough to make us feel plenty Parisian.  Thank goodness we are going to Versailles on Friday to get some of that fresh country air and to see how the other half lived back then.  Speaking of apartment, the place has worked out well.  Lots of room to walk around, small kitchen to cook in (Kelsey has cooked two nights out of the three so far, salmon and cod and chicken tonight for Maria.)  We’ve ascertained that she has taken on the kitchen witch gene from Maria’s side…get out of the kitchen while she’s working…besides it is only four feet by three feet!  The results have been “Walaah” as they say when your food arrives in front of you…or something to that effect.  We have eaten very well. 

In terms of Kelsey’s previous blogs, we have definite verification now.  She sleeps on something slightly a step above the cardboard the drunk at the Louvre was “resting” on today.  Her shower clearly was made for a small 6 year old child who actually doesn’t like to get wet.  And most importantly, she is in a secure square that took me about 3 minutes to figure out the correct buzzer and door sequence to get not only out of the building but onto the street through the square where her apt. is.  We’re happy about that.  I also want to report however that Consumer Reports will be getting a quick email from me on the shoddy workmanship of her rollie bag…first time we took it out for a spin the wheel came off…any sidewalk bump and off it comes.  Where is my hotglue gun when you need it.

So it is time for me to turn in and get ready for another four or five miles tomorrow.  We will see if we can coax Maria into a guest appearance tomorrow or so…right now she is in her PJs reading her iPad.  The second day abroad is always the hardest trying to acclimate. 

So I say to you all “Bonsoir” which means “Good Evening”…I think.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

2 responses »

  1. Bonjour mon frere Keith! Great to read from your point of view. I have to say though, I’m not sure NB sneakers instead of Birkenstocks will make you “stick out” less!! And I can’t say I’m shocked that Kelsey’s keeping you both “in-line” while visiting her local hot spots, she’s so bossy! Hope you continue to have a blast! Hi Maria!

  2. Hi Kelsey, got your postcard today.For your visit to relatives in Germany I would bring them flowers. Germans love flowers & it is customary to bring them when visiting. If you are going by train most train stations have a flower stand where you can get them. I know every Banhof (train station) in Germany has one. If they are picking you up you may want to get them in France.

    Love,
    Grandpa

Leave a Reply

