Mr. Lany thinks I’m shifty.

Standard

I leave for Barcelona tomorrow! My first trip to another country. Which has somehow transformed me into my father, as I have printed out maps, hostel reservation back up copies, and recommendations and much to my dismay…have a file folder. If you have ever traveled with my dad, then you know it isn’t a trip without his blue backpack and a file folder with various information about the trip. Well, it looks like I have become that person.

Originally when booking tickets for this trip, I was aiming to be as cheap as possible, since I knew it would be the first of several trips to book. However, in my cheap college daze, I neglected to seriously consider why my plane ticket was so cheap. It’s because my flight leaves tomorrow at 740 in the morning. Woah there Sally, I know what you’re thinking. Again if you have ever traveled with my dad, this is not really an early time. The Krasnigor family leaves at the break of dawn so as to have a “travel day” and not waste any days of vacation or trip. Many an early morning drive have I sat in the back seat, Dillon and I separated by pillows. However, I did not consider that I would have to take public transportation to get to the airport…which takes time. Oh yeah and the metro doesn’t even start running until 530 in the morning. But we shall make it happen. Otherwise I will cry. Although maybe I should make it a goal to cry in as many countries as possible. If anyone can do it, I can!

I have two other pieces of information. One being that there is a strike going on! Last week with my parents we saw a sort of strike, it was really more of a march. But this week, there is a large group striking for pension (I think we should strike for my neighborhood boulangerie to not be closed Wednesdays and Thursdays, those are critical days!). If any of you know about strikes in Paris, you know they happen at the Bastille, which I happen to live right down the block from. So today I could hear their chanting, I had to deal with the traffic, and I’ve been hearing sirens off and on today.

My last piece of information is barely anything, just something I find funny. In my residence, there is one fix-it/cleaning guy, Mr. Lany. Yes, one man who cleans every single room and attends to the maintenance. Sometimes he just changes our lightbulbs without us even asking. In our room, we have two windows, only of which had a curtain since we’ve been here, which means when it gets light out, our room becomes very bright. Last week my parents encouraged me to ask about getting a second one. In all honesty, I had just never thought about getting another one since we barely close the one (because one curtain does not do much when the sun is blazing into your room). So I requested another curtain. Mr. Lany came knocking at our door and we let him in. We pointed to the window and showed him our lack of curtain. To which he pointedly looked at me and said, “was it here when you moved in?” And we answered, “no.” “Are you sure?” he asked. And I told him I was positive. What did he think I did with the one curtain? Made a dress a la Scarlet O’Hara? Used it as another blanket? Or burn it down (I maybe, possibly, sorta, kinda had an incident with the fire alarm a ways back, but Mr. Lany doesn’t know that). Apparently I look like the shifty one between me and my roommate. I believe when he came in I was wearing my lime green sweats, with a frizzy bun on my hair, and slippers on my feet. I’m a real shady character obviously. Thankfully he believed us and the next day we had a new curtain! Can’t wait to try it out next week.

Well, I’m off. I’ll be in Barcelona until Sunday, when our flight lands around noon thirty. I’m very excited to go and to experience a new culture. Although I’m pretty positive that I will answer “oui” on accident several times.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

