Someone send me a pumpkin spice latté.

Standard

I’m really tired, it’s cold and gloomy out, I crave a pumpkin spice latté and warm fire. Therefore I’m not so in the mood to discuss my sunny second day of Barcelona. Instead you get some more observations of Paris.

1. I don’t think there is such a thing as dog etiquette. Meaning there is no such thing as picking up after your dog. It just does not happen. I think maybe once have I sign a little plastic baggie wrapped around the leash. What does this mean for a Parisian? It means being agile as a cat (ironic that we must be catlike to avoid a dog byproduct). Not that the Parisians aren’t already agile what with cramming into a pocket of space to get on the metro, cutting in line at the boulangerie, and dodging traffic to cross the street (even when you have the green man telling you to go, you are carefully dodging vehicles/bikes/mopeds). Sometimes when I run and I have a fast paced song on, I imagine that I’m in a video game, since I’m essentially in a battlefield of dog shit. If you can avoid the poo, then you get to go to the next level! (which is getting to go home not smelling like poo!)

2. You ever wonder why French people are always so tan? Well some of them have naturally tan skin (damn you Mateu family…) and the others? They go to tanning salons. I realized from great view at the gym of a bustling street corner that there are SO many tanning salons! Which means I will never blend in as I am doomed to look like a ghost (festive for October, no?) because I have a very moley body. Which brings me to my next question. When all of these people are fake tanning and smoking, how are they alive for so long??!? But then I remembered something funny my mom said once (a rare gem in history..just kidding mom, you can be funny). The answer is…the Parisians are pickled. They are preserved by the constant consumption of wine. Therefore they will outlast us all and never get cancer.

3. This is more of something I’m excited about that I want to share. I realized one of the perks of belonging to a gym…a shower with unlimited hot water! Diana and I have a limited amount of hot water, thankfully both of us don’t take hot showers, but if we do a lot of dishwashing or cleaning, we run out pretty quickly. This means I can have more hot water! Also the showers are a tiny bit larger than our shower (only by like a foot of space and they aren’t boxed in by 3 walls like ours), therefore I can shave my legs at the gym! I don’t care if I look weird, I am already that weirdo at the gym who sweats (blasphemy!).

It’s only October and already cold, which makes me a bit nervous for the coming months. I realized that I did not bring that many warm top layers (because those things take up room and I did not have room to spare! And also because I’m an admitted sweatshirtaholic and in Paris, you just don’t wear a sweatshirt, so I couldn’t bring 50 sweatshirts). Thankfully I like the cold and do have some experience with is (woohoo Massachusetts winter vacations!). However I am concerned for when Em comes to visit. She’s accustomed to the socal weather and is small and runs freakishly cold. All I have to say is that if she gets frostbite, Mrs. Mateu it was not my fault. And I’m sorry that your grandparents wanted to adopt me as the sweet American girl and made me their new granddaughter. Which just made me realize that OMG GIRL YOU BE DEALING WITH SNOW WHEN YOU STUDY ABROAD IN LONDON. Oh goodness, I can’t wait for that. Although knowing you, when it gets cold, while I may look like the abominable snowman or a big puffy marshmallow, you will look like a cute warm snow bunny. Damn. The French win again…

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

  1. Hi Kels… Love, love reading your blogs.. they are the highlight of my day (meaning that my life must be pretty boring!)… Had lunch with your mom yesterday and loved hearing about your trip together… Regarding the cold and Em… I think you are forgetting my dear that Em was raised in Colorado and we lived at an altitude of 10,000 feet! It snowed there from Sept to April..with an average degree of 25! Just to rub it in, it is supposed to be 90 at the beach today! So excited for you to visit all of our family down South in December!
    Au revior et gros biss…

Leave a Reply

