possible strike. act now.

Standard

I’ve been neglecting my little blog, I realize. But with the weather getting all cold and wintry/fall like, I’ve been going out to hole up in various cafés to read, do homework, or enjoy some warm tea. School has also been getting a bit more intense, as we have midterms in a week and then we have a week off (where I will be going to Munich for a week to stay with family- who I’ve never met before.) On top of school work, I’m now trying to find a place, so that I’m not homeless when I return to Santa Cruz, although I think I could rock the cardboard box. Looking for a place has introduced me to Craigslist, which really isn’t that bad. For some reason I had an irrational fear of Craigslist. I blame it on my mother. And just my luck, Airfrance (which I’m planning to fly to Munich for my week off) will be going on strike during the time that I’m supposed to fly out. Oh and I’m trying to finalize dates and plans for when Emilie comes to visit me at the end, so it has been a flurry of emails, stress, and planning! However, I was able to enjoy Paris this weekend, as I hadn’t been able to wander and explore in a couple of weekends. I’ll just share a couple of highlights from this weekend.

I finally got to try the soup place that I’ve been wanting to go to for awhile. Originally I had wanted to take my parents there because my dad loves soup. One of the reasons he loves soup is because you don’t really share soup. I imagine this has only been enhanced by him marrying my mother and having to share many a meal with the Kohlers. If you have never eaten with the Kohler side of the family (myself included on this habit), we really enjoy trying each other’s food. Often times though, we stick our fork into your plate before you’ve even had a chance to stick your own fork in your meal. Poor dad, but we Kohler clan are foodies and didn’t you always teach me to share? Anyways, the soup place was FANTASTIC! It was so comforting to have some warm soup, I had this killer squash soup that I probably could have eaten five more bowls, but then I would have judged by the Parisians around me. Even better? The soup place does togo! A small miracle. And it’s right near my school, so I can pick up soup whenever I’m in the mood.

Also not surprisingly, our dorm’s single washer and dryer are broken! As I had already waited a little bit longer than usual to do my laundry, this morning I found myself on my last pair of underwear and socks. So alas, I had to go to the laundromat. I filled my biggest suitcase (I’m telling you, I was in dire need of doing laundry) and rolled on down to the laundromat. First off, I want to mention that since having been here for two months (CUHRAZY!), Paris has definitely rubbed off on me. How? I put on realpeopleclothes and dressed to go do laundry. Which means a lot considering that I could live in sweats if that were socially acceptable. However, much to my surprise…I saw 3, count ’em 3, people in sweats doing their laundry. However they were extremely trendy sweats and they were still accessorized dashingly.

This weekend was the Festival Bastille. Which you would think means festival type stuff outside where people can go and partake, non? Well, on Friday we went searching for the alleged Festival, which we could not find. So later that night we looked online again and found a concert and comedy show at specific places. First we went to find the comedy show. We went to the bar where it was supposed to be held and wouldn’t you know it…it wasn’t there. Ok, no biggie, let’s go to the concert. We get to the venue for the concert. Also not occurring. I had to remind myself that this is Paris and there is absolutely no guarantees here, just because it says it’s happening online, doesn’t mean it’s actually going to happen. If the musical group just wasn’t feeling it, then they don’t play. That’s how it goes. But, on a positive note, we did pass the fruit sculpture demonstration, where this really nice chef was carving these amazing fruit sculptures. And plus it was a beautiful night, so we walked around a bunch and explored the area.

Can’t believe that I’m almost two months away from the end of my studying abroad experience, it goes by so quickly! Although I would like to take this time to say one thing…people, why have none of you sent me ANYTHING?! No letters, no postcards, no care packages. This girl in my media class received a box that looked like her family sent a small child in it, it was that big. I also have seen more packages filled with doritos and cheetos than I ever imagined (apparently people miss this a lot). With the exception of Nana and Grandpa (this just proves I’m the favorite grandchild…), I have received nada. WHERE IS THE LOVE PEOPLE? All complaining aside (which I am just so DAMN GOOD AT), a little letter or two would be nice. Just a hello or some pictures. My walls are bare and I would love a photo or two. Otherwise, I shall take a note from the Air France people and my blog will go on strike. Look at me, I’m more Parisian than I thought!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

2 responses »

  1. Does the luggage of food and clothing we brought count? If you strike I want a picture of your sign and the parade that goes with it!

  2. What would you request? We write via facebook, I don’t think you want any of our personal pictures (besides of which are still in boxes from a year and a half ago…). So would you like some goodies?, is there something you need that your personal sherpa didn’t already bring you?

Leave a Reply

