Can I add some pumpkin spice to that?

Standard

This week has gotten seriously cold! Definitely fall season progressing into winter season. I happen to really enjoy the weather, especially because is transports me back to the East Coast, with the changing leaves and biting cold. I may have been too eager for the seasonal change, as I just might have already watched 2 Christmas movies… Also I have been adding pumpkin pie spice (thanks Mom and Dad for bringing me that!) to all of my coffee… Although it still doesn’t replace a Starbucks pumpkin spice latté. I think at this point, I wouldn’t be surprised if I started adding pumpkin spice to my eggs, to flavor my vegetables, even to my water. My latest favorite game to play with my friends is to talk about all the fall/winter baked goods that we miss. Diana and I decided that when we go out to dinner 80% of our conversation ends up back on food.

Speaking of food, last night Diana and I went to a hot pot place last night! Hot pot, for those of you who don’t know (which I didn’t until a week ago), is when each person gets a pot filled with a soup base (vegetable, spicy, meat, etc.) and then you choose what type of things you want to cook in the soup. It’s basically like fondue. You get sauces and spices that you can add and can flavor your own fondue pot. Incidentally, my dad just sent me an e-mail from Japan last night and he ate the same type of thing! It was really fun, especially because I got to try different vegetables and tripe (which I now love). I keep telling Diana that living with her is helping me to learn more about Asian culture while I’m learning about French culture! Hilariously, I was the only American at the restaurant (which is a good sign, it means you know the food is good). Even better? I was THE ONLY BLOND WHITE PERSON. I pretty much stuck out big time, it was great. However, this was the first time that I have ever had to speak up in Paris to hear the other person I was with. It was a great night, except I burnt my tongue because I was too eager to stuff my face with yumminess.

Surprisingly with the cold, we have only encountered more mosquitoes or mosquito-type bugs. On Monday morning I woke up with three Mt. Vesuvius on my face. Oh yes, they bit my face. I looked REAL cute going to class that day. So we’ve had to shut our windows and I have worked on my ninja-like reflexes to get better and smashing the bugs. I’m proud to say Kelsey-8 Mosquitoes-0 (since I have started my mosquito man hunt).

Also with the cold, I have now discovered that EVERY Parisian person owns a trench coat. So now I feel like I’m in a murder mystery and everywhere around me is Inspector Gadget/Inspector Clouseau. Parisians love fall because it means the simple addition of a trench coat to an outfit.

I have also learned that there is ALWAYS construction going on in Paris. Even if it looks like there is no need for construction, well you’re wrong. There is. You can’t walk down a single street without encountering construction. But what I enjoy watching is the Parisian people, who are so curious. Right now on the corner of where my school is, there’s construction occurring on one of the entrances to a big Monoprix (grocery store), with a big tarp covering the construction. I have lost count of how many Parisian people slyly poke open the corner of the tarp to see what is happening.

Today I’m off to the Salon du Chocolat and then it is study, study, study because I have midterms next week!!!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

