A marathon to Munich

Standard

I AM IN ZE MOTHERLAND.

That’s right, I have finally made it to Germany. Remember how in a previous post I mentioned my FANTASTIC luck?? Especially when it comes to travel? Well let’s just say that today was another page in that book. Here’s how it went down. To begin with, Air France decided to postpone their strike and begin it today! Woo perfect timing, go me. So after consulting with my travel agent (my father- who to add to that list, is now my negotiator for housing), we decided that the best plan was just to get to the airport really early and get onto whatever flight was available. That meant no sleep in for me, waking up early. I get to the metro station and of course as I’m running down the steps, I miss the metro and have to wait for the next one. Now in the grand scheme of things, that wasn’t too bad, but it was definitely an omen. Once I get off at the stop where I pick up the RER (more like a train, takes you outside of Paris and to the airport), I get on the wrong one. Get off at the next stop, go back to where I initially started. Keep in mind that NONE of the escalators are working, so clearly I’m shfitzing for days. So then I’m waiting for the right metro. And waiting. And waiting. And then we find out that the RER that takes you to the airport isn’t running. So we have to take a different RER and then a bus to the airport. Once we get to where the stop where we get the bus, there is a huge line to get on the bus and metro workers are handing out apple juice, water, and crackers because apparently having the RER out of commission is worthy of dipping into the rations. The bus then takes us to the aiport, terminal 1. But I am in terminal 2, so I have to take another train to finally reach my destination. Where it takes all of 5 minutes to tell me that all the flights are booked and I am still on mz 355 flight. Ok. cool. Chillin at the airport for 7 hours.

And THEN…our flight gets delayed. But those Air France people are crafty, they just continue to delay the flight in half hour incriments. And the best part is we can all clearly see that there is no airplane at our gate, just absolutely nothing there. Eventually they bus us over to a different Air France flight and then ultimately, we board! In comparison to my seat companions, who were coming from a South America vacation and had already spent a day and a half of traveling, I really can’t complain.

And now, I am here, in Munich. To fill some of you in, I have this entire week off from school. And a while back, I got a bee in my bonnet about going to Germany. My mother was born in Germany and my dad lived in Germany with his family for several years in his late teens (Grandpa was in the airforce). So I have a connection to Germany and realized that I wanted to visit. So (thank you Opa!) now I am here in Munich, currently staying with Monika. And tomorrow I will meet Andrea and her oldest daughter. Monika and Andrea are my mom’s cousins, but I have just been referring to them as my aunts for simplicity. I landed when it was dark, so I haven’t seen much yet, but tomorrow we are touring Munich and going for a bike ride.

I am not sure how frequently I will get to posting as this is supposed to be a vacation after all, but I will try my best!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

