Bread: it’s what’s for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Standard

Well I’m back in Paris, my week in Germany went by very quickly! It probably didn’t help that I was sick for the entire trip. Visiting Germany and my family was truly amazing, I’m so glad that I had the opportunity to stay with them. Not only was Germany beautiful (oh how I have missed trees and forrest and lakes!), but it was so awesome to meet more of my mom’s side of the family, see the similarities and understand more about my that side of the family. Throughout the week I could totally see the resemblances and felt as though my aunts (Cree and Vicky) were there with me!

I will probably have to break this into a few posts because we did so many things: biked around Munich, I went to the city center on my own, went to a palace in the mountains, went to a huge indoor swim place, walked around lakes, milked cows, went to old villages, saw the Dachau concentration camp, played with what felt like a small village of children (all of them practicing their english with me), and ate so many potatoes.

Were you aware of how many potatoes the Germans consume? The only thing they eat more of than potatoes is bread. They eat bread with each meal and often it is the meal! I told Andrea, you know you eat a lot of bread if you have your own bread slicing machine in your house (which she does). I then asked her just how many loaves of bread are in her house (because her family is 5 people) and if she had a magic bread cupboard. Thankfully, Andrea and Monika are clearly related to me as they love food just as much. And Andrea, much like my mother and Christa, has to have something sweet every day or sometimes with each meal. Which reminded me of one time when I was visiting Christa and she said to me, “How do you know a meal is over until you have something sweet at the end?” Well Christa, you are clearly of German ilk! So to thank the family, I baked them brownies and apple pie, my little American contribution to them.

So…milking the cows. First let me say that I had imagined cows as being a lot smaller than they are. They are ginormous and their filled udders are about the size of a small child. Hardi and Andrea have 40 cows, some baby cows, and horses. The cows, after eating, file in to two sides. They have machines that do the milking, but we have to wash the udders and hook up the machine. Even though they have machines that do the work, Andrea showed me how to actually milk a cow, which if they had to do it that way would take such a long time. The cows are so hilarious, they are so curious, always sniffing the machines and looking at what is going on. However, a piece of advice. Cows, much like every other animal, go the bathroom wherever they please, which often means while you are working with them! You learn to dodge that VERY quickly.

That is all for now, I have to run to the marché to get some food for this week and unfortunately I have homework to do, apparently a break isn’t really a break. And now my head is filled with German words and I have to try to get back to French, which has been difficult. I have already said to two shopkeepers, “danke” (thank you) and said “ya, ya, ya” rather than “oui!”

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

