Kelsey goes to the Opera.

Standard

Last night I went to the Opera Garnier to see a ballet! It was absolutely magical and such a great experience. The Opera house, which looks splendid in the daytime, looks absolutely magnificent at night time. With the lights and the regal staircases, you are instantly transported to what it must have felt like to be an aristocrat, attending the opera on a nightly basis.

I went with my friend Ilanit (pronounced ee-lah-neat), who is a fellow Santa Cruz slug. We were so excited to go to the ballet, especially because Christian Lacroix had designed the costumes. We bought our tickets separately, so we weren’t sitting together, but were on the same floor, just opposite sides of the opera house. When I went with my class to tour, we weren’t able to look inside to see how the seating looked. I imagined, like anyone else would, that it would be rows of seats. WRONG. Only the ground floor is rowed seating, every floor above consists of little cubicles, with 4-5 seats, each with a partition type thing. I, with my great luck, was in a cubicle that had a column in it. So it was two women sitting in the front, one woman behind them, and then me. And the column. My seat was higher up, so I really didn’t have a problem seeing, it was just so comical to me how the seating was.

The actual ballet was fantastic. The stage was very deep, which was really cool because the dancing took place all over the stage. The music was great and they played softly, so you could hear the ballet shoes dancing, which I loved. The set design…amazing. It was so simple, yet brilliantly thought out, and things would move during the show, which I liked. But really…THE COSTUMES…OH MY GOD…I WANT TO DRESS UP. The outfits were simply stunning, the rhinestones (or crystals, who knows), the colors, everything was just mind blowing. I will say the only thing was that…well, I didn’t quite understand the story. After the first half, Ilanit and I thought we had it figured it out. There’s two princesses, some forest creatures, Russian men, a prince, etc. But then the second half started and there was another princess, another prince, it was a tad bit on the confusing side.

Also, the French people take their encore very seriously. As long as people are still clapping, well they keep raising the curtain and bowing. And you know how usually when you are cheering for one specific person you liked? You yell, “wooo” or “yeah!” something of that nature. Well the elderly french man in the cubicle next to me was yelling, “ooooh” “uhooh!” Very entertaining…

Tonight my best friend Julie is coming to Paris. I haven’t seen her since June because she is doing a year study abroad in Italy. When you do a full year program, you have to go early for the summer to take language classes because then all of your classes are in another language. So it has been 5 MONTHS since I have seen her!!! I cannot wait! She is a crazy Disney fan, so I think we are going to Disneyland this weekend too. Stay posted!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

