We’re going to Disneyland? Just let me grab my leather jacket first.

Standard

My weekend with Julie has been amazing so far, it is just so wonderful to see someone from home, especially since I hadn’t seen her in 5 months! She and two girls from her program arrived Thursday night. I met up with them, showed them sights, then we had dinner by the Seine and went to the Eiffel Tower. Yesterday I took Jules to our marché, we went to Musée d’Orsay, went to Mamie Gateaux (WHICH WAS CLOSED!!!) and then ended up at a cupcake place, and saw the movie Ides of March (side note: I plan on marrying Ryan Gosling, I realized last night that the only 3 movies I have seen in Paris have all had him in them: Drive, Crazy, Stupid, Love, and Ides of March). This morning we went to the Bastille Marché, where we picked up some gifts for friends and family…gotta finish up my Christmas list!

Now if any of you know Julie (which is probably just my parents), you know that she is OBSESSED with all things Disney. And of course I lured her out to Paris to visit me by promising to go to Disneyland Paris with her. So Friday day was spent at Disneyland. First of all, Disneyland was SO COLD, I don’t know if I felt my toes once the entire day. And unlike Southern California, where the Socal-ites would be put off by the cold, the French held tough and shockingly to me, the kids were still going even when it reached arctic temperatures. And of course I assumed, oh it’s Disneyland, people will be dressed however. WRONG. I saw leather coats galore, high heels, beautiful coats, trendy moms, and of course the kids were dressed so well. There was nary a fanny pack or Disney shirt in sight.

I decided to break one of the French codes, which is no walking around eating or snacking. The only thing that is acceptable for that is a baguette/baguette sandwich. However, I was waiting in a line, starvin marvin, so I decided to eat a carrot. Which of course drew several stares. The best part? I was wearing mittens that only have the thumb and then the rest of the hand, so at one point I accidentally dropped the carrot, which then bounced through the line in slow motion. The old man next to me had a good chuckle over that one.

Unfortunately, Disneyland Paris is a lot smaller than the original one at home, which means LOTS of lines. And boy does Paris love its lines. I think since Julie has gotten here, I have been in over 20 lines.

Overall it was really fun and just comforting to be there, it reminded me of home. And we lucked out because the park had already been transformed for Christmas. Which stupid me, took like 3 weeks to finally figure out why there have been so many Christmas decorations up for a while. There is no Halloween or Thanksgiving, le duh!

Unfortunately Jules heads back to Italy tomorrow, but I will be visiting her in December, so I have something to look forward to! She reassures me that in Italy I will finally have good coffee…

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

