Merci-giving (French style)

Standard

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone! I hope that you all enjoy your feasts and eat some extra pumpkin pie for me. I will instead be taking myself to see a movie and then making breakfast for dinner. So while you pass the cranberry sauce, slice into the turkey and aunt Cree uses half a stick of butter on anything and everything, I will be dining on 2 thick pieces of bacon, the best scrambled eggs ever, and a pear.

To be quite honest, at first I was feeling somewhat melancholy regarding Thanksgiving because everyone would write on facebook about going home and Thanksgiving is probably my most favorite holiday. This probably has something to do with the fact that I’m an admitted pumpkin-aholic. But yesterday I called my aunt Cree’s to wish everyone a happy early Thanksgiving. Stellar planning on my part as I was able to talk to everyone at once, rather than having to call each couple/person individually. And then today I hit the Krasnigor family and chatted with them. Let me give you some highlights of the conversation (also including the conversation with my mother that took place right before):

1. After I talked to my Opa about my approaching 21st birthday, he told me I was only one more year away from the real world and then preceded to ask me about what my future career goals are. Thanks Opa, I thought that was just my dad’s job…
2. I learned that the Kohler sisters can’t keep secrets, as Opa told me that “there was a rumor floating around” that he speaks German with an American accent. I may or may not have heard this from my German aunts and passed this fact to one Kohler sister, which once that little tidbit hit the ground, it was really only a matter of time.
3. Uncle Chuck and I discussed the merits of the new Muppets Movie, which he is apparently excited to see with my little cousins. Oh Uncle Chuck, I can always count on you to dish on the real stuff, how I adore you.
4. Dillon and my dad plan on consuming mass quantities of football with my poor mother this Thanksgiving break. Don’t worry Mom, I will be home soon enough, where I will reassume the dominant role and pee in a couple of corners to remark my territory.
5. As my date to head back comes closer, it is inevitable that each conversation with my mom now factors food in. What I can’t wait to eat when I get home basically.
6. My grandpa has an ipad. So he has officially surpassed me in the technology world.
7. The package that my grandparents sent? The one that I found out got shipped back to them? Was filled with tea and my most favoritest thing ever…furry socks! Nana sends me them every now and again and they literally are the best thing ever. I will be thankful to return to the US’s land of post.

Things I am thankful for this season:
1. Public transportation, I am really going to miss the metro, despite it being more often than not hot, packed, and smelly.
2. The marché and my rolly bag (they are a packaged deal)
3. Being able to travel and see more of the world (thank you parents, I am so fortunate to have the best parents in all of ventura county…just kidding, in the world)
4. Finally figuring out where I’m living when I get back to Santa Cruz! (again, thank you Dad, you’re so helpful, I owe you a dinner and dessert!)
5. Being able to talk to my family on/near Thanksgiving
6. Having such wonderful family and friends who have been so supportive of me studying abroad. I can’t wait to bring back lots of loot for you all, while you praise my sophistication and maturity (ya right, see previous mention of muppets analysis).

Happy turkey day to you all!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

2 responses »

  1. Hi Kels,
    Yes, this year is quite the contrast to last years’ Thanksgiving….I think your dinner sounds delightful though! I am thankful for a lot of things this year, one of which is having such a funny, creative, sarcastic, delightful (weeeelll….not first thing in the morning), fantastic niece! Can’t wait to see you next month! Have an amazing trip to Prague and Italy! xoxoxoxoxox

  2. How I am going to miss your HANDSTANDS IN PARIS on a regular basis! They have enlightened my days immeasurably. In the new year I hope to have Emilie’s blog from London, possibly titled, “Layering in London”!

Leave a Reply

