Signs that I’m becoming a Parisian.

Standard

Signs that the French are rubbing off on me:

1. I don’t leave home without a scarf…which means that my scarf collection is now a whole shelf. And I also feel like a boy scout because I know at least 5 different ways to tie/wear a scarf.

2. I put on real people clothes whenever I leave the house, even if it is to run across the street to the market. People, this is BIG. Do you know how much I wear sweats? A lot to say the least. The fact that I only brought two pairs here is a big deal too. When I get home I plan on giving equal love to each sweatshirt/sweatpants.

3. I always have the exact change and if not, I apologize profusely. This was entertaining when I went to Italy. I had a big bill that I had gotten from the bank (in France, you can choose to receive 10s and 20s from the bank machines) and told the shopkeeper at least three times that I was sorry that I didn’t have anything smaller. They looked at me like I was crazy and told me it was fine.

4. I go grocery shopping 3-4 times a week. Instead of doing it the American way, where you get enough stuff for a full week, I go every couple of days to get fresh stuff.

5. I don’t leave home without mon i-pod. Those are staple here, pretty much everyone has a pair of headphones on. Although sometimes I just leave mine in without music playing and people watch/listen to conversations.

6. I don’t snack. THIS IS HUGE. Obviously I’m a tad bit food obsessed and at home I was just constantly eating. My dad would make fun of me because I wouldn’t leave the house without a couple of snacks in my purse. My friends at school also made fun of this, but then quickly stopped when they realized that when they were hungry, I was the one to turn to. Here, I just don’t eat as much, only for my main meals.

7. I wear lots of black. SAY WHAT? I know, I used to not own a single piece of black clothing, besides a sweater or tank top, but now I have plenty.

8. I walk extremely fast, like I could do laps around Dillon, I’m at least 5x his speed. I think I could even outwalk my mother, which is saying a lot.

9. I don’t even start preparing dinner until 8pm sometimes, you just eat a lot later here.

Those are all the things I can think of now, but I’m sure I’ll notice some other things.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

