Pierre Hermé, the real Santa Clause.

Standard

Hello all! Greetings from my last weekend in Paris! It was a wonderful last weekend, despite the 35 degree weather with rain!

Some highlights from my weekend include:

1. Going to a party at Hugo’s and meeting a lot of French students. Sometimes it is easy to forget that there are extremely kind French people who don’t judge you for not speaking French fluently. Everyone I met was so nice and I had a great time comparing French culture to American culture. We also did a lot of comparing Los Angeles to Paris. Thankfully, when I travel and people ask where I’m from, California is well known enough and people have been there, so we can have conversations about there.

2. Ilanit and I went to Pierre Hermé’s book signing! This was a great experience for many reasons:

A. Since being in Paris, I have been to two book signings. I have never been to any in America, but apparently I’m the avid attendee in France. Pierre was adorable, this sweet, older, chubby man.
B. He was just chilling in the corner of one of his stores at a table with some of his many books with some macarons in front of him. There were lots of people in the store, but all just picking up macarons and chocolates. Parisians are just so blasé about everything, it is hilarious. Here is one of the most famous and world known French bakers and people are just not even paying any attention to him. While Ilanit and I, two blond girls giggle nervously about meeting him.
C. I converted Ilanit to be a Hermé macaron fan, they are just so much better than Laudurée’s, much more complex flavors, bigger size, and the most amount of filling. Since taking her last week, she has returned to the store 2 times within a week. So proud. Anyways, she is a tiny person and plus we are college kids, so she only gets 2 at a time. Apparently all the Parisians decided to have a macaron fest or holiday party because they were all purchasing huge boxes of macarons. Then here comes little Ilanit getting just two. So funny.

Pierre:

His crazyinsaneamazing creations:

3. Saw the Eiffel Tower’s ice skating rink. Chose to watch and not partake, seeing as how it always takes at least a good hour to get back into the rhythm of things and was not willing to do that.

4. Got to talk to Emilie on the phone. This was great because I was being a little stressball about traveling, not being able to communicate with her grandparents (who speak only French), and traveling with all of my luggage. Lucky for me, Emilie is an amazing best friend who reassured me. Oh, I also learned that I’m leaving this Friday for Bordeaux, which I was for some odd reason under the impression that I was leaving Saturday (that’s when everyone else is leaving).

5. Went to the Champs-Elysées Christmas Market. Ok people, at this point I have been to 8 Christmas markets in 3 different countries. This is a great perk of living in Europe, there is SO MUCH HOLIDAY SPIRIT. Want to know why that is amazing? It’s amazing because I was born into a family that has little to no holiday spirit. Whereas I would like to start wearing a Christmas sweater December 1st. I always tell my mom that when I’m older, she’ll receive a holiday card from my family all clad in ugly Christmas sweaters. It will be beautiful. So being surrounded by xmas spirit has been great, although it will be funny to return to California where there were will be palm trees and warmish weather.

AND NOW… I have created a little somethin’ somethin’ for y’all. Check it out!

http://www.happycountdown.com/Kelscomestocali/index.cfm

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

