Bordeaux: carrying 4 months worth of baggage.

Standard

Bonjour mes amis! Tis I, Kelsey. I mentioned that I wouldn’t be blogging while I headed to the South of France, but there is just TOO much going on here for me to wait until the end. As Julie found out last night (Julie Mateu, Emilie’s mom) when we skyped, there’s a lotttaa stuff going down in Marmande. But before Marmande, let’s discuss Bordeaux.

So I packed everything up Thursday night into one big suitcase, a little rolly suitcase, a huge yellow bag my aunt and uncle gave me (this bag is literally full of only gifts) and my backpack. We went out for a last meal which was fun, we were basically the only people in the whole restaurant. Then we headed to bed. The two of us in my tiny bed, sleeping head to foot. I would wake up periodically and we would be up all up in each other’s business because my bed sinks in the middle, so there was no way to avoid one another. Oh well, had to commemorate the last night somehow!

Friday morning we headed to the train station. We decided the best thing would be to call for a taxi because of all of our stuff (and by our, I mean mine). Our taxi driver was nice and we spoke a mixture of English and French while I attempted to tell him why I was in France. He told me that I had a nice smile and smiled a lot, which he doesn’t see very often. I thanked him and resisted the urge to add him to my now increasing list of french suitors. I have decided that I’m going to marry into the French culture so that I can come to Mamy’s house whenever I please.

We got to the train station with plenty of time to spare (yay, go us for planning well!). Then the comical part…Em and me trying to get 3 suitcases, 1 huge bag, 1 carry on, 1 backpack and a purse onto the train and put away. Dear god, thank god I never have to do that again. By the time we reached our seat and everything was put away I was ready for a nap and shower. After a pleasant trip we made it to Bordeaux…where we then had to transfer ALL THAT LUGGAGE to one tram and THEN AGAIN onto another tram. All while it was raining. Finally we made it to our stop and got off, where we had to duck under the overhang while we waited for Léa. Léa is Hugo’s younger sister. I like her a lot because she is the first sassy and sarcastic french person I have met. She’s wonderful. After we dropped off our stuff and I changed (Emilie of course is still looking cute and smelling wonderful of course) we met Maxime, another friend of Emilie’s. It was amazing to meet Max. Firstly because he is SO NICE, literally the sweetest guy ever. And secondly because I have been hearing about him, in addition to others, for years, so to finally meet the people of Em’s french life has been great. By the way Julie, Sophie and Mickey, I think that Maxime looks like Michael Cera. Google image him and compare him to Max’s facebook. THEY ARE TWINS, I PROMISE. We toured Bordeaux, got some macarons for Mamy and Papy, saw Max’s apartment, walked through the Christmas market (I have now been to 6 or 7), went to a pub (pubs truly are universal), and then went to a little french (which I suppose means regular) restaurant. I ate canard maigre which just means duckdeliciousness. Apparently when you study in Paris for 4 months, you don’t actually practice your french that much. However, since being in Bordeaux and then Marmande I have had to practice my french A LOT. Thankfully I can understand more than I speak. More often than not, I get what is going on and being said. It’s just when I have to speak or reply that I think “merde.” Afterwards we headed back to Léa’s apartment since Em and I were ready to sleep for 3 weeks.

Saturday morning we woke up, Léa made waffles and then crepes, and then we packed up our stuff. Then we had to deal with once again packing all of our stuff into her French car, which means tiny car. Luckily we were able to fit everything, although I sat cross-legged the entire drive. After a quick hour, we made it to Mamy’s!

** HOW COULD I FORGET? Emilie quickly told me to share this little gem, which I so conveniently forgot about. After exiting the train in Bordeaux, we had to go upstairs to catch the tram. Which means escalator. Well, I may or may not have fallen down on the Up Escalator… Yeah, pretty cute I know. I fell with one bag falling on top of me and the other one falling down behind me. It was great.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

Leave a Reply

