Let me present: La famille de Mateu.

Standard

Ok, now it’s time for Marmande. I know I miss my family a lot, but I’m sorry, I’M NEVER LEAVING. I have a wonderful huge bed, a hot shower that is bigger than the size of a dog kennel, and best part…FOOD. Ok Mamy may or may not be a secret world class chef. Since being here I have had fois gras, poulet roti (roasted chicken), confit de canard (duck confit), oysters (first time ever!), ceps (mushrooms that Papy forages for), beaucoup de fromage, fresh vegetables, and just a whole bunch of other deliciousyummygoodness. Coco (otherwise known as Mamy) has been feeding me like a queen. The comical part? I am always the one having seconds and thirds, while everyone very daintily only has one. Today at lunch, I had two helpings of the meal and there was still some left in the pot. No one was eating it and Mamy turned to me and asked if I wanted the rest. I said no thank you, which she then looked at me like I was sick. She clearly has learned that I have a big appetite because she did not believe me. Also, she may secretly be Jewish because she is trying to fatten me up and feed me everything. Today I got to pick a cheese at the market and at the end of each meal she looks at me and asks if I want fruit, cheese, fois gras, leftover chicken, etc. Although I think she likes that I’m willing to pretty much try whatever and eat it all.

Papy is adorable. He reminds me of my Grandpa a lot, saying funny little things and joking around with us. He also likes to make fun of when Em and I say “yeah” since it sounds so ridiculous I suppose. Also, he is extremely punctual when it comes to mealtime, a man after my own heart. I can always count on Papy to be ready to eat when I am. Emilie and I brought them macarons from Bordeaux and at the end of each lunch, they eat a couple (we bought a huge box). Papy pretends to pick them randomly, but he only picks the brown ones since he knows that the only flavor options there are chocolate, caramel, or coffee.

Coco is so sweet, she clearly is overjoyed to have Emilie here, which is just so cute. I remember her from when she came to California for Em’s bat mitzvah. She’s adorable too. I know I keep using the world adorable, but there is no other way to explain them. As Tati Kiki said yesterday (Tati Kiki is Em’s aunt, Mickey’s sister), “everything in France is small, like us!” As for Tati Kiki, yesterday I told her she was “la reine de Marmande,” meaning the queen of Marmande. She knows everyone it seems like. Yesterday we walked in the center of town and we kept running into friends of hers. Also, she is sassy as well, which obviously I can appreciate. She pretty much had the shpiel down about me which she would explain to each new person we met. When I first people and they tell them I’m from the US it starts out well. But then when we tell them that I have been in Paris for 4 months, they then of course expect me to speak french. And we all know how well that turns out… Some people I have met speak English with me, but they tell me since I’m in France, I have to speak French.

Ok, I’m going to just post a billion times because I haven’t even gotten to the actual stuff that I have done. Which includes…NIGHT CLUB (where Emilie neglected to warn me that there would be lots of hair gel and white pants aka Jersey Shore), meeting Florent (Max’s best friend, also known as the funniest person ever), going to Kiki’s friends homes, meeting the French man of my dreams (Guillame: Julie, you know what’s up; tell Mickey that he’s going to marry me and not Emilie, break it to him lightly), shopping with Mamy and Papy, and now Em and I are off to hang out with Max and Florent and then going to dinner with her friends Louis and Kevin. Yes Julie, it’s a double date, I am doing speed dating french style. I promise I will post soon!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

  1. Kels… you are the funniest girl ever…! You have it all down perfectly.. and in only a few days..!

    Laughed all the way thru your post!

Leave a Reply

