Side note: Language analysis by moi.

Standard

Ok this is just a little post before I talk about Marmande. I wanted to elaborate more on the whole speaking French thing. First of all, in the South of France, there is a different accent. Much like what you would find if you went to Texas, Minnesota, or Bawhston. For me, it is a bit easier to understand because they speak it a bit slower and there more pronunciation of each letter. Of course when the younger kids or people our age speak, they speak it quickly, so it can be hard for me to pick up on everything, but it’s still better than Paris. Also, they pronounce their “-in” differently than what my French teacher (who was from Chantilly) taught us. So instead of “mahtahn” (matin-morning), it sounds like “mahtehng”. Which is fine for me, but not so great for when I speak. I’ll sometimes say something in French, which Emilie will have to repeat for me. Especially with Mamy and Papy, Mamy probably thinks that I speak like a two year old/an alien. Oh well, I do lots of smiling, nodding, pointing, hand gestures, and “oui” to help me out.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

