My night at the Jersey Shore.

Standard

Ok, lucky for you people, you will be getting 2 or 3 posts this evening, including one from Ms. EMILIE MATEU, HERSELF! Be excited for that one because she is writing about our French double date last evening. But before I get ahead of myself, I must discuss my first night in Marmande, which is when I was introduced to Marmande’s one and only night club…TNT.

We were going to TNT in honor of Kim, Maxime’s younger sister. It was her birthday and she had turned 16, which is the age that you need to be to get into a club. Before we headed to the club, we went to Maxime and Kim’s house, where I met Florent, Max’s best friend and Emilie’s long time friend as well. We waited for Kim and her two friends to get ready and just chatted downstairs with Max’s mom, Sascha (their younger brother, also a Justin Beiber look alike, who is extremely cute. Hit me up in 10 years Sascha). Once the girls were finally ready and Kim had forced Florent and Maxime to put on nice shirts. We headed over to the bar. Yes, THE bar. According to Tati Kiki, it is the only bar in Marmande. We hung out there for an hour or two, we wanted to wait until the club would be more filled. Maxime and Florent ordered mojitos, which was hilarious. Florent is tall and has lots of scruff/beard/eyebrow piercing and looks very manlike. Both of them were daintily using their straws to crush the mint and mix the sugar. I told them that it was a very masculine drink to order, which Florent thought I was serious about. Florent also explained to Emilie and I later in the evening that he thinks if you drink alcohol through a straw it goes more directly to your head. Um, what? That’s French logic for you.

After chilling at the bar, we went to da club. Oh yes, Dad, that one was for you. A little fiddy cent reference for you. Although last night, Kevin called him “cinquante cent.” Before we could even enter the club, we had to check our coats, which was a mini event of itself. Emilie may have gone ghetto and almost beat up the coat check girl. First of all this girl looked like shit, she just looked like she needed a small coma of a nap. Kim told us to put our two coats together to only pay for one, but of course sadfrenchcoatcheck girl was not having that. Then we tried to get into the club, but they told us Emilie had to check her tiny clutch bag. So we took out all the important stuff and tried to recheck her bag. Sadfrenchcoatcheck girl told us to wait our turn and by the time she finally got to us, Emilie was done with her. Eventually we got inside…where I quickly learned that Marmande is secretly harboring an Italian population. Meaning beaucoup de hair gel, white pants, tight shirts, fitted pants, and tacky outfits.

This also meant that there were lots of people dancing on podiums set up around the room. One of my personal favorites of the night were these two guys wearing tight jeans, tight white long sleeve shirts and scarves (yes, apparently they remain french even in the club). These two guys kept doing little coordinated dances and trying to remain in synch. Pure gold. Also, much like in America, there are little choreographed dances that everyone knows. My favorite was “Moussier tombola” where you pretend to jump rope. Sure, why not? Also the club is filled with a RANDOM ASSORTMENT of ages. Everything from 16 to a few 40 year olds. Random as hell basically.

On Sunday, when Em and I were chatting with some of her friends at their house, he asked us which side of the club we were on, the young or the old. Well, I wasn’t aware that there were two sides. My bad. When we asked how we could tell and one of them said “where you on the side that smelled like vomit or no?” Glad that’s how I can figure that one out.

In between the beginning and the end there was lots of dancing, talking, Em and I making fun of Florent, and a lot of people watching. Needless to say at the end of the night sadfrenchcoatcheck girl was still there, looking even closer to her death. We bid TNT adieu and waited for Papy to pick us up. Yeah, that’s right. Papy came to pick us up at 330 am.

For your viewing pleasure, please imagine this in a club with many, many people.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

