I’m not a cat lady. Not yet, at least.

Standard

Well hello there, aren’t you looking fantastic? Welcome to the new year, I know it’s been awhile. But I’ve been at home and on vacation. Which means all that I was doing was eating, baking, wearing sweats, eating, sleeping, and talking to my family members (and the Mateus because I love them so). So basically, nothing blog worthy. But now I have moved into my new abode in Santa Cruz! So I have at least a couple of things to discuss.

Before I could even think about returning to Santa Cruz, I had to do one of my favorite things…packing! So sick of packing/unpacking, can’t even tell you. I actually looked at one of my Paris suitcases in disgust and talked to it, despite the fact that it is an inanimate object and didn’t actually do anything wrong. Fortunately for my mother, she had work, so I was left to pack all of my things on my own. She referred to our game room as “my staging area,” where I began to put all of my belongings. As I told my brother, it is amazing that I traveled and lived in Europe on only 2 suitcases, but then had 2 almost full cars worth of belongings for Santa Cruz. Whatevs. I like my stuff. No apologies. It’s cold up here, so I need to have A VARIETY of sweatshirts.

On a positive note, I have the best stocked kitchen. Waffle maker, coffee maker, crock pot, juicer, food processor. Yep, I clearly live on my own and am a foodie.

Since we are on the subject of me living alone, let me fill you in on what my family has been telling me for the past week. It all began when Dillon told me not to become a recluse. I told him that he should only be worried when he got a birthday invitation in the mail for my cat, Mr. Giggles. Or when he called me and heard a lot of cat’s meowing in the background. Ironically enough, my landlord (who lives in a beautiful house next to my humble abode) has two cats. One of the cats, Otis, jumped into our trunk as we were unpacking last night- clearly I’m the cat whisperer.

Yesterday we drove up to Santa Cruz. We being my mother, my father, and myself. My mom and I drove together in her car and my dad drove Gomez (my car). Hilarious. Picture my dad driving my little honda fit, a bike on top with a pink tool kit on it, a car filled with colorful blankets, and a pink seal sticker on the back of the car. So funny.

We took a mini detour to San Luis Obispo so that my parents could eat lunch (I packed my lunch, come on people, do you know who I am?). Also, so that my mom could see San Luis Obispo, she has a secret agenda. Finally we got to Santa Cruz and I waited anxiously to see my new place. Did I not mention that I had never seen any pictures of my place and had no idea what it would look like? Well I didn’t. But I had a gut feeling! Emilie was a tad bit horrified when I told her I had no clue what it would look like, but I had faith. And I was right…it’s wonderful!On the smaller side, but plenty of room for me. Lots of storage (meaning lots of places to store sweatpants and sweatshirts), a beautiful kitchen, adorable side yard, huge queen bed, and a tv. First time I have ever had a tv in my room. Living the dream people. I live right near the beach, which is pretty fantastic if you ask me.

Once we unpacked everything and my mom made my bed (she likes to make beds and remakes the bed even after I have made it because “it isn’t good enough.”), we grabbed a quick lunch in town and drove along the coast for a bit. I think they were reluctant to leave the beautiful weather behind, but they need to go send Dillon off (oh wait a second, he only has one bag to take with him…).

I start school Monday, which what? Real classes? Actual schoolwork? I’m a little out of practice.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

