From hipsters to hippies.

Standard

First day of school. Back to the real world, back to actual homework (which I will do because I am a NERD.) and back to the 5 day class week. So far being back in Santa Cruz has been a mixture of feelings. My Santa Cruz life before studying abroad feels like a lifetime ago, I feel like a different person. For example, there is this one guy in my Silent Cinema class, who I have taken several classes with before. For some reason, he chooses to take approximately 10 hours to say one sentence, when he could have just said, “it’s an illusion.” This used to drive me insane. But now I don’t mind his lengthy explanations. Weird, it’s like my patience is growing, rather than being the patience of a two year old.

Today I only had one class, Silent Cinema. And my teacher? Found out she’s my next door neighbor. Oh yes. This could only happen to me. Also I figured out that above me is the laundry room. Which I find ironic since I have to either go to a laundromat or up to campus to do my laundry, but must listen to the washing machine above me. Cruel joke if you ask me.

The other thing that I have noticed after my first day of school? BIG TRANSITION in appearance from Paris to here. I have already seen dread locks, dyed hair, pajamas outside the home, grunge, and more scruff than you can imagine. My class was filled with guys who are exercising their right to grow their beard/mustache/general facial hair. I went from extremely polished to beach/college town. I have returned to my hippie roots and it feels oh so good.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a Reply

