We can fit AT LEAST 15 more people on this bus, sir.

Standard

Hello again. For the past week I have been opening a new page to write a post and then contemplating. It’s not that I don’t have a lot to say…let’s be real, the day that I run out of things to say will be a very scary and very silent day. It’s just been hard to convince myself to write, especially because I’m SUPPOSED to be directing all my writing towards my script (I’m in a screenwriting class this quarter). Also, it’s extremely hard to be inside when I live 2 minutes from the beach and am more inclined to go for a bike ride or a walk. Whereas in subzero weather back in grand ole Paris, it was not difficult whatsoever.

Here’s a mini update: first of all, I got a job! That’s right, I’m working, along with everybody, for the weekend (song reference anyone?). I’m a PA, which means Programs Assistant. Basically I’m doing the same things I used to volunteer to do last year, but I’m getting paid! Gotta pay those grocery bills somehow… Also, for my spring break and 21st birthday, I’m headed to New York, where I am hoping to take myself to eat at Per Se (been dreaming of eating there for about 3ish years). Haven’t heard of Per Se? Well that’s okay because it’s probably not normal for a 20 year old to know who all the famous chefs and restaurants are, despite having never been to them. Wait, it’s not normal for me to be reading their biographies and books either? Umm… Anyways, Per Se is EXTREMELY expensive, so I’m starting a feedGobblegee2012 fund. Care to donate?

Besides getting a job, I have begun my classes. This past Friday I had my screenwriting class, which is pretty dang amazing. I’m extremely excited to be working on a script and learning how exactly to edit and produce a script!

Ok, now for some more observations and mini anecdotes that I have been encountering upon my re-entry to Santa Cruz:

1. This past weekend I went to a friend’s party (it was her roommate’s 21st) at her house. It’s funny how after Paris, college parties seem “cute.” Red cups, handles of cheap alcohol (parents, close your eyes), shitty beer, and loud music. It just seems so precious and unrefined after bars, classy restaurants and drinking actual wine rather than boxed wine (it’s an acquired taste..). Also I had forgotten how you have to introduce yourself very loudly a thousand times, real conversation is purely accidental.

2. Some people may not have realized WHERE you were, so instead they will say, “HEY! Ohmygod, I haven’t seen you in sooooo long!!!” To which I reply, “about that…I was in Paris for 4 months. Maybe that’s why we haven’t run into each other on campus?”

3. Then that person 98% of the time proceeds to ask me if I’m now fluent in French. To which at this point, I just say yes, when what I really mean is…


(courtesy of Miss Emilie)

4. IMPORTANT: I need to re-evaluate my terms of “personal space.” Since I was in Paris for 4 months, I redefined my definition of personal bubble. This past week, I might have accidentally been extremely up in people’s business in line. They may have looked at me awkwardly and I it’s possible I had to take a step back and look around pretending I wasn’t breathing down their necks.

4b. Ilanit and I were discussing how our European concepts of personal space translates over into public transportation. She was waiting in line to catch a bus to campus, when the bus driver deemed the bus “too full.” Ilanit said to me, “if it was Paris, we could have fit at least 10 more people on.” It’s not full until you know whether all the people around you showered that day.

Still unsure of where this blog’s future may lay, but fortunately for you, I may be blogging on a different site, but fingers crossed, we are still waiting to see!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

Leave a Reply

