Apparently I’m a single parent. Holla for a Dolla.

Standard

Sorry for the web silence y’all, it’s been a hectic past week and a half. Apparently I’m supporting a family single handedly and that is why I now have 3 JOBS. I know, I went to zero to sixty real quick. I told my mom this yesterday and she said, “I didn’t know you were a single parent, who are you supporting?” Well that would be my appetite, my spring break trip, and my clothes horse. Alas I have no sugar daddy to take care of me and there is only so many times in a day that I can head to the local Keith Krasnigor ATM without feeling extreme cases of guilt (I don’t know when I developed this deep sense of Catholic/Jewish guilt, but it’s there; this is why I spend an hour in a grocery store.)

And this past weekend my aunt Tanya and uncle Sean (affectionately known as “Seanya”) came and visited me in Santa Cruz! It was absolutely fantastic to see them before the embark on the next chapter of their life (baby and moving to Atlanta.) I was so happy to show them my little neck of the woods and wasted no time in taking them to all of the food places that I adore (Burgers, organic ice cream, best slice of pizza, best Brazilian brunch). See family, you need to come visit me and I will take care of your hunger needs. They lucked out as we had amazingly beautiful weather which is extremely uncharacteristic for January weather. We got to have lots of delightful chats, I received several “Sean’s Life Lessons” (if you haven’t signed up for Sean 101, you are missing out. Between he and my aunt, they have ASHITTON of life experience). I am sad to see them go as they were my only family on the west coast. But I also am glad that:

1. They are having a baby. This means I have another Krasnigor cousin to pull rank on. I’m the first born on both sides of my family, so I’m the OG first born (OG- Original Gangsta). Also, I LOVE babies. I love children actually. The amount of topics that you can cover in a conversation with a kid is great. They tell it like it is and so do I, so we get along well.

2. They are moving to Atlanta, also known as Hotlanta. I really like the south (or the version of the south in my head), which I think is because of all the novels that I have read that take place there. There’s something so traditional and mellow about the South that I like. I also think it’s really cool that their baby is going to be born in the south. Fun fact: my dad and all his siblings were born in the south. The Krasnigors are the original Massholes (I don’t feel bad saying this, I include myself in this), so it’s always funny to know that they weren’t born in Massachusetts, but rather the south. So it’s cool that it has come full circle and Tanya is returning there where her baby will be born!

3. I can visit them to eat fried chicken. I also love collard greens. And would like to try okra. So basically they are filling another food area of my life. Thanks guys, y’all are so considerate.

The other reason I’ve been so damn busy is that I got a job working at Verve, a really AMAZING coffee shop. The people are amazing and the place is beautiful. And how many people get to say that they love going to work? So I’m working for the man. Verve roasts their own coffee, flies to countries to find and meet with farmers and has quality product. So if you ever want to try some, let me know!

And last but not least…I have been working on my articles for Small Kitchen College. My first article comes out tomorrow, which I will be posting ASAP! And then I’ll be writing pretty much weekly. I don’t know how often I’ll be able to tend to this blog, but I’ll definitely try to link my articles here.

If you’re missing out on blogness, like I mentioned before, head over to Emilie’s, she’s got some great posts. Shout out to Emilie here! She has been mentioning me in her blogs which makes me FEEL SO LOVED. God I’m so vain. But now I know how you all must have felt when I mentioned you…pretty damn special. Imissyouemiliesosososososososomuch. This last paragraph is basically an open love letter to Emilie. Long distance best friendness going on right here.

Ok that’s it, gotta head to class! Silent Cinema is calling for me…actually it’s not, cuz it’s silent. Get it?

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

4 responses »

  1. Thanks for the props Kels!! We loved seeing you in your “natural college habitat”! It’s great to now have a visual on your day to day life at school. Congrats on your new gig…you failed to mention that Verve has THE BEST cookies EEEEVERRRR!!! Love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

