First day of work!

Standard

First day of work was today! After two different trainings with my hiring group (there’s five of us girls), I finally started work at the Capitola location (Capitola is a neighboring city, basically Santa Cruz) under the guidance of one of my managers. It was AMAZING, I’m seriously thrilled to be working there. My coworkers are some of the greatest batch of people, I lucked out big time. Is it weird that I wanted this job to make friends with the people who work there? Probably, but whatevs. And the Capitola location is the original shop, so there are lots of regulars, which is great. Here are some of the highlights from today:

1. Instead of passing the mini receipts that say the coffee orders on them, I kept throwing them away. Whoops… At the location we all trained at, there’s a remote printer that prints out the receipts, so I just assumed that these were cash receipts and we didn’t need them anymore. Thankfully I got corrected REAL QUICK.

2. The register broke. Maybe I should have told them about my bad luck? It’s only natural that the technology would stop functioning after I interacted with it. Maybe it’s in cahoots with my old ipod, my laptop and my phone?

3. The Capitola location is right near a big surfing point, so we get A LOT of surfers. I was doing dishes and struck up conversation with this adorable old lady. When I asked her how her day was, she told me “the swells are huge today, the waves are just so giant!” Which I had to laugh at because are you going to go surfing out there lady? I hope not.

It was a short shift, but I work again Thursday and I’m so excited! I’m in charge of brewing coffee (I GOT THE POWER), giving out the pastries (no strudel for you!), café upkeep and doing some other drink stuff.

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

Leave a Reply

