Sunday Life Lessons

Standard

After writing the last post, it dawned on me that it’s been an entire quarter since Paris. This is just crazy! I feel like I was there yesterday. This is probably because since I’ve been back, my life has been a little crazy and filled. Usually I’m not big on discussing life lessons, but since I’m in my ripe and wisened age of 21, I’m allowed to discuss this shiznit.

First of all, THANK GOODNESS I studied abroad in Paris. No seriously, best decision in life ever. I have learned and grown so much from the experience. One of the most important things I took away from the experience, which has now turned into a mantra of mine is: “if I had to navigate a completely different culture in a foreign language, then there is NO reason why I can’t put myself out there in my native culture and language.” If you’ve kept up with my blogs, then you’ve read about me getting jobs and opportunities that simply weren’t happening to me before. And that’s all because I put myself out there. What do I have to lose? (Besides my dignity, which let’s face it- thanks to my mother, I’ve lost a lot of concepts of social embarassment).

Although my close friends and family members would probably tell you that they are most glad that I learned how to be much more flexible and patient. This is a result of the transportation and strikes in Paris. Oh and the complete lack of customer service, which meant that doing 1 thing could take all day.

And another perk has definitely been my dressing skillz. They have become SO much better. Before I used to dress for comfort and didn’t really care about looking feminine or dressing my actual body shape. But now I’m all about the accessorizing (and the stripe. J’aime des chemises rayées).

Only sad note: my french language skills? Well, those have kind of fallen by the wayside. I know, I know, I really shouldn’t let them, but I wasn’t able to fit French in my schedule and I had some residual Parisian resentment when I first came back from studying abroad.

Sunday lesson from Kelsey? Put yoself out there!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

One response »

Leave a Reply

