Cheers to Me!

Standard

Yesterday was my 21st birthday. And it was one of the most amazing birthdays I have ever had. The day started off with bacon, so I had a strong feeling that it was going to be a good day.

Although apparently, when it’s my birthday, it’s really Maria Krasnigor’s birthday. First off, I had to make sure to have lots of cold coffee in my fridge for her. I cleaned, but didn’t bother to make my bed because I knew it wouldn’t be up to her standards and she would just remake it. She brought her little mini bagels and fake american cheese for her breakfast sandwiches. But when we woke up, it dawned on me that I have no toaster (because I don’t eat bread, I’m a gluten-freer now) and no ice for her ice coffee. Whoops, sorry my little bed and breakfast wasn’t up to its full standards for you. Although now I know what it feels like for Christa and Mama and Opa when you visit.

Ok, so yesterday started off with breakfast (I made the prima dona a delightful breakfast sandwich) and then we walked along West Cliff, which is a beautiful walk along the ocean. Then we headed over to crossfit, where I did my second workout of the open. After rockin’ the workout, we headed to my little Saturday farmers’ market. Boy I love me a farmer’s market. I really do miss my Paris farmer’s market though. And my rolly bag…le sigh…I hope you are in a better place now.

Fortunately Santa Cruz decided to be beautiful weather for us, it was 73 degrees yesterday! Although mom was in pants (she runs cold like Em, I just imagine the two of you in your puffy coats…so adorbs), I was in shorts. For us Santa Cruzians, anything over 65 is summer weather. We took a beautiful drive down to Carmel, which Tanya and Sean had just visited and raved about. It was soooo cute! Loved it! We poked around and I got some super sweet and funny socks (I wear crazy socks under pants and to Crossfit, I’m a lover of socks). Then we drove back and got ready for the main event.

The main event was dinner at Manresa Restaurant. As you have seen in previous posts, food is pretty much my life. I’m thinking about the next meal as I’m eating one. And my favorite thing to do when I call home is to ask what they’re making for dinner. I think my superpower is super taste buds. I can recall almost any meal and can tell when mom has changed something in the mashed potatoes. So if you ever need a crime solved regarding food, I’m your gal.

Ok back to Manresa. Manresa is a gorgeous restaurant in Los Gatos, a city in the mountains right next to Santa Cruz. It is truly a fine dining experience and one of the only restaurants in California to have Michelin stars. The chef, David Kinch is currently nominated for a James Beard award. If this means nothing to you, it’s okay, I still love you. One of my coworkers at Verve, who I absolutely adore, Avery, works in the front of the house there (and is transitioning to cooking in the back- she makes the most AMAZINGDELICIOUS gluten-free bread of my life). She hooked us up and got us reservations (which you usually have to get months in advance). I had been dreaming about this meal for a month.

We ordered the tasting menu, which means about a bajillion courses and the chef decides what to create that night. This is really cool because each table gets variations of similar things. I was constantly scoping out the table next to me to see what they were having. I began my meal with a cocktail (what’s up being 21?!!!!!) and they carded me just for the purpose of carding me, which thankfully I remembered to bring my wallet.

Because I’m a friend of Avery’s, they hooked us up. We got a few extra courses and desserts. I think we were the envy of the tables around us. We also must have stuck out a bit because we were the only non -couple and I was clearly the young person in the crowd.

I will write another post about the food, so that those of you who get bored by my food chatter can stop reading here!

About kelskraz

I've begun this blog to write about various things while I study abroad in Paris. While I major in film (cheese, let's get real), I'll be studying in Paris for 4 months. I hope that I'm able to keep this updated for family and friends to check out what I'm up to abroad (this is easier than my mother putting a gps on my phone, which almost happened). So with that, bonjour!

Leave a comment